Today’s Copenhagen Discoveries – May 19, 2010

After an entire day out on the town, I’ve got a few recommendations of all sorts to share.

International Parents

I met a lovely group of international moms today through the Copenhagen International Parents Group on Meetup.com. If, like me, you’re a parent from abroad living in CPH with time on your hands, this seems to be a great way of getting to know others who are in the same boat (haha, pun maybe intended).

Cool Cafe

The outing started at Cafe Citron in Osterbro – a great place I’ll definitely be coming back to. It’s part cafe, part cool shop with gear for kids (Ticket to Heaven and the like) and home (cool, colorful, whimsical stuff). I got a lunch menu (sandwich and drink) for 50 dkk and got to sit at one of the cool outdoor tables while my son sampled a handful of sand from the sandbox (also a part of Citron’s outdoor area – genius!)

Great Library

The next stop was the library next door. I hadn’t been since the renovation, and it’s looking great. The best part was the kid area, though – with a huge stuffed giraffe, toy cars, stuffed animals, and load of books and space to sit/lie/roll.

Another CPH Park to Check Out

Then we headed over to Ostre Anlaeg park, which (like many other places I’ve recently come across) I never knew existed. It’s beautiful. Lush and filled with rolling hills and a pond.

Great Outlet Shopping in CPH! (Ok, it’s not the US, but the better fashion makes up for the smaller selection)

And finally, I walked to Langelinie and checked out the outlets. I wish I’d had two days, because every shop I popped into had great stuff. Ticket to Heaven, for example, had a deal where you get four winter things (like mittens, hats, etc) for 150dkk. And loads of rain jackets. A bunch of the stores had great women’s and men’s clothes and accessories. Since I left my good watch in the US, I got an awesome bright yellow rubbery one, kind of like a LiveStrong bracelet but much cooler and more useful, for under 200dkk.

Want you see the Little Mermaid? Gotta go to Asia…

I walked back to our Norreport flat through Castellet, which is gorgeous this time of year. The Little Mermaid, Denmark’s most popular tourist attraction, has been temporarily replaced by a huge TV screen (installed right in the water) with live footage of its current whereabouts in Shanghai. I wonder if anyone there will try to chop off her head.

About Kolya Partan

I'm a Boston-based environmental writer and an avid outdoor enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Art, Copenhagen, Culture, Family in CPH, Food, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment