The boat has landed in Copenhagen again.

Take that, Happiest Country.

After a little over a year away (a year spent joyously exploring Manhattan with baby in tow), we’ve come back to spend the summer in Copenhagen. And things seem quite different this time around. First of all, we’ve upgraded from southwest CPH (Sluseholmen), where only birds came to visit, to just east of the lakes. And this means the city is suddenly at our feet, almost like in New York! Haha. Not really – Gothersgade doesn’t quite have the edge Broadway does, but the lack of sirens, crazy homeless Alleluja man, and the jazz player who blows the same five tunes into his sax every evening at 7 pm – well, it’s all kind of refreshing, in a dull sort of way.

But the biggest transformation is among the Danes. They have changed dramatically in the past year. And it’s all because of our baby. Equipped with Oliver, I am suddenly seeing a side so much softer, I don’t know how to respond. People smile at me (us) on the street. They hold doors. They stand aside. And, most astoundingly: they start conversations with me. Everyone’s been doing it, and I – having prepared to not smile excessively at strangers and certainly not to strike up random conversations, which according to some Denmark Happiness experts scares the Danes – I’m the one that’s caught off guard and confused.

I was, to be honest, a bit scared to come back after a year back in the US. But I think I’m starting to see why everyone told me it would be different with kids. And so far, I kinda like it.

As for the orange poster I spotted in Norreport on one of my endless stroller-pushing outings: it still made me laugh. I can still relate. Contemplating going back with 50dkk to buy that thing.

About Kolya Partan

I'm a Boston-based environmental writer and an avid outdoor enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Copenhagen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The boat has landed in Copenhagen again.

  1. Namrata says:

    When you say only birds came to visit you in Sluseholmen, I assume that I’m being bundled in to that category!

    • anastasya says:

      You’re like a bird, but you don’t fly away…oh dear, I miss SingStar. Seriously, you were the only friend who visited (outside the wedding caravan). Though I think your returns had a little somethin’ to do with some amazingly awesome (and cheap) dessert wine from NETTO…No? đŸ˜‰ Come back – we are in a cooler part of town now!

Leave a comment